Cultural Analysis

The culture of a company is unique. It includes all traits, behaviour patterns and practices of an organisation that either make the organisation successful, or stand in the way of its progress. Cultural analyses, therefore - as a basis for targeted cultural changes - meaningfully highlight the effects that the customs and traditions have on the competitiveness of a company. To not just describe the culture of a company, but to also provide starting points for its change, in our analyses we also identify the operating principles and more profound reasons for the existing patterns.

Since a company culture has an incalculable variety of manifestations, it is absolutely necessary to define the topics to be examined together with the client before all else. To do so, we form a steering group in the company, with which we delimit the present issues, define the planned goals and specify precisely what manifestations of the culture we will survey. To give an example, these key areas can be the leadership or conflict behaviour , communication and working processes, the consequence and responsibility culture and many more.

We work chiefly in semi-structured, qualitative interviews with a time frame of approx. 1 hour per employee. Depending on the depth of the analysis, we also take into consideration the results from potential existing employee surveys, and carry out shadowing, customer surveys, organisation constellations and more.

The areas of application are diverse:

  • Fusion of two companies
  • Existing simmering cultural differences in various company divisions
  • Optimisation of work processes
  • Discrepancies between defined and experienced culture
  • Sudden strong company growth
  • Change to the leadership culture due to replacement
  • Preparation for organisation development

The end result is a summary of the results in a qualitative report in which all defined topics with their impacts and reasoning are clarified.

Kulturanalyse

Die Kultur eines Unternehmens ist etwas einzigartiges. Sie beinhaltet all die Charakterzüge, Verhaltensweisen und Gewohnheiten einer Organisation, die diese erfolgreich machen oder aber dem Erfolg im Wege stehen. Kulturanalysen - als Basis für gezielte Kulturveränderungen - beleuchten daher sinnvollerweise, welche Auswirkungen die "Sitten und Gebräuche" auf die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit des Unternehmens haben. Um eine Unternehmenskultur nicht bloß zu beschreiben, sondern um auch Ansatzpunkte für ihre Veränderung zu liefern, erheben wir in unseren Analysen auch die Funktionsweisen und tieferen Gründe der bestehenden Muster.

Da eine Unternehmenskultur eine unüberschaubare Vielfalt an Ausprägungen hat, ist es entscheidend notwendig, in einem ersten Schritt mit den AuftraggeberInnen die zu untersuchenden Themen zu definieren. Dazu bilden wir im Unternehmen eine Steuergruppe, mit der wir die aktuellen Probleme abgrenzen, die geplanten Ziele definieren und genau festsetzen, welche Ausprägungen der Kultur wir erheben werden. Diese Schwerpunkte können beispielsweise das Führungs- oder Konfliktverhalten sein, Kommunikations- sowie Arbeitsprozesse, Konsequenz- und Verantwortungskultur und noch vieles mehr.

Hauptsächlich arbeiten wir in teilstrukturierten, qualitativen Interviews mit einem Zeitrahmen von ca. 1 Stunde pro MitarbeiterIn. Je nach Tiefe der Analyse berücksichtigen wir auch die Ergebnisse von evtl. bereits vorhandenen MitarbeiterInnenbefragungen, führen Schattenbeobachtungen, KundInnenbefragungen, Organisationsaufstellungen und mehr durch.

Die Anwendungsbereiche sind vielfältig:

  • Fusion zweier Unternehmen
  • Vorhandene schwelende Kulturunterschiede in verschiedenen Unternehmensbereichen
  • Optimierung von Arbeitsabläufen
  • Diskrepanzen zwischen definierter und gelebter Kultur
  • Plötzlich starkes Unternehmenswachstum
  • Änderung der Führungskultur durch Neubesetzung
  • Vorbereitung zur Organisationsentwicklung

Das Ergebnis ist eine Zusammenführung der Resultate in einem qualitativen Bericht, in dem alle definierten Themen mit deren Auswirkungen und Begründungen erläutert werden.